You are here

STRUCTURED NIGHT SCHOOL

Trying to upgrade while holding down a full-time job or raising kids?

Our Structured Evening classes may provide the perfect solution for your educational requirements. Courses are offered twice annually - Sep-Jan and Feb-Jun and are held at Bakerview Centre for Learning. Each course runs two nights per week from 5-8pm.

For a list of our instructors and their contact information, see the Teacher Contacts section below.

**New**

We are offering a number of "blended learning" courses in the Spring 2019 semester.  Blended learning courses include both an online component and face-to-face instruction with support from a teacher.  Students are supplied with computers while in class.  See the course schedule below to see which courses are offered as blended courses.  Some science courses will include a hands-on laboratory component.

Textbook Deposit Fees

There is a $75.00 textbook deposit per course for all students. This deposit is fully refunded if books are returned within 30 days of course completion or withdrawal.  After 30 days, there is a $20.00 hold back.  If workbooks are handed out by the teacher, and the workbook is used or not returned, the cost of the workbook is deducted from the textbook deposit refund.

Course Fees

Course fees apply to International students, Private School students and Non-Residents of BC.  Call the school for details.

Courses offered

Courses offered for Spring 2019 are as follows:

Course Duration Days Time
Foundations of Math 11 Feb 5 - May 30 Tue/Thu 5-8pm
Pre-Calculus 11 (blended course) Feb 5 - May 30 Tue/Thu 5-8pm
Foundations of Math 12 Feb 4 - Jun 10 Mon/Wed 5-8pm
Pre-Calculus 12 Feb 4 - Jun 10 Mon/Wed 5-8pm
English 12 Feb 4 - Jun 10 Mon/Wed 5-8pm
English 12 (blended course) Feb 4 - Jun 10 Mon/Wed 5-8pm
English 12 Feb 5 - May 30 Tue/Thu 5-8pm
Biology 12 Feb 4 - Jun 10 Mon/Wed 5-8pm
Biology 12 (blended course) Feb 5 - May 30 Tue/Thu 5-8pm
Chemistry 11 Feb 4 - Jun 10 Mon/Wed 5-8pm
Chemistry 12 (blended course) Feb 5 - May 30 Tue/Thu 5-8pm
Physics 11 (blended course) Feb 4 - Jun 10 Mon/Wed 5-8pm
Physics 12 (blended course) Feb 4 - Jun 10 Mon/Wed 5-8pm
       

*All courses run subject to sufficient enrolment.

Course Prerequisites

English 12 - must have completed English 11, Communications 11 or Communications 12; FOM12 or PREC12 - must have completed a grade 11 math course; Chemistry 12 - must have completed Chemistry 11; Physics 12 - must have completed Physics 11.  (Bring your transcript with you.)

If a student wants to register for a course, and is registered at another secondary school, they must have their school counsellor sign the registration form indicating that they can take the additional course(s) at Bakerview Centre for Learning.

Registration

Registration for the Spring 2019 Session begins Monday, January 7th, 2019. Come into the school to register. Bring payment (we accept cash, Interac, Mastercard, Visa, or American Express) (CHEQUES ARE NOT ACCEPTED) and government issued ID showing your birthdate (birth certificate, driver's license, BCID, Canadian passport or permanent resident card).

**Your registration will not be accepted unless we have received FULL PAYMENT AND PROPER IDENTIFICATION.

Teacher Contacts

Structured Night School Teachers do not work at Bakerview Centre for Learning during regular school hours. Please contact your Night School teacher by email for attendance or homework questions.

Dafe Atawo (Foundations of Math 11) - dafe.atawo@abbyschools.ca
Andrew Nairn (Foundations of Math 12) - andrew.nairn@abbyschools.ca
Shourok Hilal (Pre-Calculus 11 Blended) - shourok.hilal@abbyschools.ca
Martin Jungmark (Pre-Calculus 12) - martin.jungmark@abbyschools.ca
Parm Ghag (Biology 12) - parm.ghag@abbyschools.ca
John Munro (Biology 12 Blended) - john.munro@abbyschools.ca
Steve Simms (Chemistry 11) - steve.simms@abbyschools.ca
Tricia Hein (Chemistry 12 Blended) - trish.hein@abbyschools.ca
Julie Krossa (English 12) - julie.krossa@abbyschools.ca
Natalie Lang (English 12) - natalie.lang@abbyschools.ca
Shourok Hilal (Physics 11 Blended) - shourok.hilal@abbyschools.ca
Shourok Hilal (Physics 11 Blended) - shourok.hilal@abbyschools.ca

Contact Us

Call Bakerview Centre for Learning for more information at 604 859-7820 during office hours - Mon-Thu 8:00am-3:30pm; Fri 8:00am-3:00pm.